AG Awards for the year 2021

Nominations of candidates can be submitted until 30 April 2021.


The AG awards several high-ranking prizes to people who have made outstanding contributions to astronomical research. The following prizes are to be awarded 2021: the Karl Schwarzschild medal, the Ludwig Biermann Award, the Doctoral Thesis Award, the Bruno H. Bürgel Prize, the Hans-Ludwig Neumann Prize and the Instrument Development Award.

With the Karl Schwarzschild Medal 2021 and the invitation to the Karl Schwarzschild Lecture, the AG honours an astronomer of high scientific standing. The Executive Committee of the AG nominates the laureate of the Karl Schwarzschild Medal. 

For all other prizes, AG members are invited to submit proposals for candidates in writing to the President by May 31, 2021.

During the annual AG conference in September 2021 this year's award winners will be presented. You can find details on the awarding of prizes at: