Press releases

Karl Schwarzschild Medal 2020

The most prestigious prize in Germany in the field of astronomy and astrophysics, the Karl Schwarzschild Medal, is awarded to Friedrich-Karl Thielemann in honour of his research on the boundary of nuclear physics and astrophysics.

Ludwig Biermann Award 2019

For his work in the fast-growing field of the search for the earliest and most distant quasars in the universe, the German Astronomical Society honours Eduardo Bañados with the Ludwig Biermann Award.

Ludwig Biermann Award 2020

Paola Pinilla is being honoured with the 2020 Ludwig Biermann Award for her contributions to the understanding of the evolution of small solid particles in gas disks around young stars.